Prayer that dwells in peaceful places

Where is your happy place? Where do you go to put your mind at ease? Or are you too busy or preoccupied to find peace?

Say goodbye to busyness and get alone with Jesus.

Lily Dunbar writes,

I’ve decided to break up with busy.

My schedule will not longer be the boss of me. I am going to learn to say no to distractions and time suckers to create a little more breathing room.

Instead of rushing out to meet my day, I want to slow down and really listen for the still small voice of Jesus.

Dirty dishes, laundry, and the email monster will not lure me away from lingering in my quiet time chair with my Bible in my lap.

I am determined.

I want be be best friends with Jesus, not my to-do list.

May the crazy voices in my head be silent so that I can hear His voice.

Less worry. More worship, please.

There just never seems to be enough time in my day to get everything done, so I am going to give up on checking chores off first. Let the dust bunnies run amok around the whole house as long as my whole spirit is in tune with my God.

Am I the only one who can’t seem to get a grip on all that I have to do?

https://lylidunbar.com/busy/

Perhaps you have felt that way too. Unless you can block out all the distractions, or ignore the to-do list, it seems the only time we have with God is our spare time. But that’s no way to grow a healthy relationship. God is not another thing you can just check off.

If we are going to make our relationship with God a priority, we have to make room for Him at the very top of our to-do list. But we also have to include Him in all the other items on that list. This is what it looks like when you love someone. You give them priority.

This is the first and greatest commandment, to love God with all our heart, soul, mind and strength (Deuteronomy 6:5, Matthew 22:37, Mark 12:30, Luke 10:27). It is what He made us for. Many personality assessments that man has devised basically revolve around those four categories (for example, the DiSC assessment of Dominance, Influence, Steadiness and Conscientiousness correlates to Strength, Heart, Soul and Mind). The way God made us with our unique personality is specifically designed to relate to how we love God and love other people – with our whole being.

It is love that moves us to action. Consider these words from Psalm 116:1-9,

I love the LORD, because he has heard
my voice and my pleas for mercy.
Because he inclined his ear to me,
therefore I will call on him as long as I live.
The snares of death encompassed me;
the pangs of Sheol laid hold on me;
I suffered distress and anguish.
Then I called on the name of the LORD:
“O LORD, I pray, deliver my soul!”

Gracious is the LORD, and righteous;
our God is merciful.
The LORD preserves the simple;
when I was brought low, he saved me.
Return, O my soul, to your rest;
for the LORD has dealt bountifully with you.

For you have delivered my soul from death,
my eyes from tears,
my feet from stumbling;
I will walk before the LORD
in the land of the living.

ESV

Our response to loving the Lord is to walk with Him in the land of the living. As we walk with Him, He hears us and delivers us. He leads us to quiet resting places and gives us His peace. As long as we live on this earth, let us come to His dwelling place and call out to Him in prayer . For it says in Psalm 46:1, “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble” (ESV).

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started